Board of Trustees

Trustees of the Newberry

Burton X. Rosenberg
Retired Partner
Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Robert A. Holland
Vice Chair
Civic Leader

Gail Kern Paster
Vice Chair
Director Emerita
Folger Shakespeare Library

Michael A. Pope
Vice Chair
McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Gregory L. Barton
Retired Attorney

David B. Smith, Jr.
Executive Vice President and General Counsel
Mutual Fund Directors Forum

Edith Rasmussen Ahern
Civic Leader

Joan Brodsky
Civic Leader

Frank Cicero Jr.
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Lewis Collens
President Emeritus
Illinois Institute of Technology

Celine Fitzgerald
Financial Analyst
Webb & O'Neill

Louise R. Glasser
Civic Leader

Richard C. Godfrey
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

David C. Hilliard
Immediate Past Chair
Attorney, Partner
Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard, & Geraldson

Javier Laguna
UNAM Chicago

Lawrence Lipking
Chester D. Tripp Professor of Humanities
Northwestern University

Sonya Malunda
Associated Colleges of the Midwest

James H. Marrow
Professor Emeritus
Princeton University

Andrew McNally IV
Retired Chief Executive Officer
Rand McNally

Mary Minow

Cynthia E. Mitchell
Civic Leader

Janis W. Notz
Civic Leader

Jean M. O'Brien
Distinguished McKnight University Professor
Department of History, University of Minnesota

Lisa J. Pattis
Next Chapter Holdings

Jean E. Perkins
Civic Leader

John P. Rompon
Managing Partner
Marjo Investments LLC

Martha T. Roth
Chauncey S. Boucher Distinguished Service Professor of Assyriology
University of Chicago

Rudy L. Ruggles, Jr.
International Security Advisor, Retired

Karla Scherer
Chairman and CEO
The Karla Scherer Foundation

Adele Simmons
Global Philanthropy Partnership

Harold B. Smith
Past Chair
Retired Chairman of the Executive Committee
Illinois Tool Works, Inc.

Nancy Spain
Attorney, Partner
Spain, Spain & Varnet P.C.

Carl W. Stern
Carl W. Stern Associates, LLC

Astrida Orle Tantillo
Professor of Germanic Studies/History and Dean Emerita of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
University of Illinois Chicago

Kenneth Warren
Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor of English
University of Chicago

Life Trustees of the Newberry

Roger Baskes
Past Chair
Managing Partner
The Baskes Office

T. Kimball Brooker
Barbara Oil Company

Anthony Dean
Retired President & Chief Operating Officer
The John Nuveen Company

Hanna Gray
President Emerita and Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Professor Emerita of History
University of Chicago

Neil Harris
Professor, Department of History
University of Chicago

Victoria J. Herget
Past Chair
Institutional Investment Advisor

Stanley N. Katz
President Emeritus, American Council of Learned Societies
Professor, Woodrow Wilson School
Princeton University

Barry L. MacLean
MacLean-Fogg Company

David E. McNeel
Retired Managing Director
Bessemer Trust Company, N.A.

Alyce Sigler
Civic Leader

Richard D. Siragusa
Retired Corporate Executive

Carol Warshawsky
Past Chairman
J. C. Whitney & Co.

Robert Wedgeworth, Jr.
Retired Librarian
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign